Can I see the incoming messages before participants see them in the app?

Yes!  The feature that enables you to do this is called 'moderation'.  Moderation is turned OFF when you create your meeting.

Just click and slide the ‘moderation’ button to turn Moderation to ON you will be able to review all the incoming messages and approve them for publication to your participants. Nothing gets through without your say so!