Meeting privacy and sharing

When you add a new meeting, you are the only user in the Meetoo account who has access to it.  You're what we call the meeting "owner".

It's really easy to share a meeting with other users in your account, click here to see our article which shows you how (or how to unshare!).

As far as why you'd want to share access - You might be co-hosting a meeting, giving a colleague access to download reports, sharing message moderating responsibilities, controlling the polls, you name it!

Once you've shared a meeting, anyone who has access to it can do pretty much anything that you can...  they can even delete it.  The only thing another user can't do, is unshare it with the owner.

 

Here's a short summary/recap of notes on meeting privacy and sharing;

  • You can only share a meeting with another user in your account.
  • To share with another user, they need to have the 'Meeting Host' permission level.
  • There's no limit to how many other users you can share a meeting with.
  • Other users who have access can do anything with the meeting apart from unshare it with the owner.
  • When you share a meeting, you and the user(s) you've shared it with receive an email notification

 

And if you weren't around when we launched this feature, or couldn't make it at the time, then catch up with our short webinar on the subject hosted by our very own Dermott and Dave.

 

 

Actually, there's something else...

   (...and it could be important!)

Meeting privacy and sharing is a new feature introduced on 16th April 2016.  The above information, including that in the how to article, is valid as of this update. If you've been using Meetoo prior to that, then keep reading.

To minimise the impact caused and possible complications with live events, all meetings which were created prior 16 April 2016 have been automatically shared with all users in the account.

You can go back and unshare those old meetings if you'd like to make them private.  We just figured that it would be better to have to retrospectively unshare a meeting with users as opposed to realising people suddenly no longer had access.